The acting president of Karabakh, Bako Sahakyan is reelected. The presidential vote took place on Wednesday during the National Assembly special session.

As it was reported earlier, two candidates were nominated for presidency. They were: MP Eduard Aghabekyan, who has been nominated by the Movement 88 faction of the NA; and incumbent President Bako Sahakyan, who was nominated by the Fatherland, Dashnaktsutyun, and Democracy factions of the Artsakh parliament.

On February 20, the NKR held a constitutional referendum, and 87 percent of the electorate voted for the proposed constitutional amendments.

Pursuant to these amendments, a transition will be made from a semi-presidential to a presidential system of government in Artsakh.

And, accordingly, the National Assembly will elect the President until 2020—for the transitional period.